Posted by & filed under Front page.

Congratulations to this year’s South of Ireland champions! Full results are available here.

The weekend kicked off with Men’s Épée. This year’s title went to Romanian-born (though Tipperary-based) Ricuta Laurentiu, defeating Irish #1 Geoffrey Corcoran 15-10 in the final.

In Women’s Épée, Anna-Lise Mion took back her Souths crown after a one-year absence. Kerrie Johnson of Plymouth, currently #1 in both juniors and seniors, mounted a dramatic comeback in the closing seconds to take the final into priority, but finished with silver for a second year.

Irish international Brendan Cusack returned to the domestic circuit to make waves in this weekend’s Men’s Foil. A winning streak through two rounds of pools culminated in a convincing victory over DUFC’s Phillip Cripwell in the final.

Junior international Anna Lee took her first senior open championship in Women’s Foil. She faced teammate Victoria Duxbury in the final and won 15-12.

Despite a somewhat reduced entry compared with previous years, Men’s Sabre retained its spectacle as Salle Dublin clubmates Michalis Kirimlidis and Aidan Clarke faced off for the title. Kirimlidis took gold 15-10.

This year’s Women’s Sabre event concluded with a nailbiter between Anne Clarke of UCC and NI cadet Beth Taylor. Experience won the day as Clarke won through 15-14.

Photo: jf1234, used under Creative Commons License (By SA 2.0)

Comments are closed.