Posted by & filed under Front page.

The Irish National Fencing Championships took place at UCD this weekend.

In Men’s Epee, Philip Slater (Lisburn Gladiators) defeated reigning champion Benedict Chambers (FFF) 15-9 in Sunday’s final. Anna-Lise Mion of Pembroke Fencing Club claimed the title in Women’s Epee with a 15-8 victory over Frankie Nesirky (Munster Blades).

In the Men’s Foil event, David Alexander (Nottingham) met Gavin Williams (CDS Mangiarotti) in the final, with Alexander winning 15-7. Victoria Duxbury (Edinburgh) faced newly-crowned junior champion Anna Lee (Pembroke) in the Women’s Foil final. Duxbury took gold 15-14.

Men’s Sabre saw a repeat of the 2010 final. Stephen Concannon (Salle Dublin) defeated Owen McNamee (UCD) 15-8 on this latest outing, retaining his title for a second year. In Women’s Sabre, Kathryn Marshall (Foyle) added the senior championship to her junior gold with a 15-4 win against Erin Barclay (UCC).

The National Junior Championships were also held at UCD, attracting U20s from across the country. The 2015 winners are as follows.

Junior Men’s Epee: Geoffrey Corcoran (Salle Dublin), best cadet Paul Verdon (Grosvenor)
Junior Women’s Epee: Charlotte Slater (Lisburn Gladiators), also best cadet
Junior Men’s Foil: Phillip Cripwell (Pembroke), best cadet Paul Verdon (Grosvenor)
Junior Women’s Foil: Anna Lee (Pembroke), also best cadet
Junior Men’s Sabre: Brian Murray (Foyle), best cadet Ross Patton (Foyle)
Junior Women’s Sabre: Kathryn Marshall (Foyle), best cadet Beth Taylor (Grosvenor)

Comments are closed.