Posted by & filed under Front page.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 East of Ireland Open, hosted by UCD. This year’s champions are as follows:

  • Men’s Épée – John Wright (UCD)
  • Women’s Épée – Kate Coleman-Lenehan (Pentathlon Ireland)
  • Men’s Foil – Conor Nagle (Pembroke)
  • Women’s Foil – Joana Ramalho (unattached)
  • Men’s Sabre – Stephen Concannon (Salle Dublin)
  • Women’s Sabre – Szabina Matyas (Salle Dublin)


In épée, UCD took home three medals including both golds, with current students John Wright and Kate Coleman-Lenehan winning their respective events.

Wright, who won the Irish Open satellite this year representing his native Canada, defended his East of Ireland title with a 15-8 victory over Ross Byrne (DUFC). Junior international Geoffrey Corcoran (Salle Dublin) took bronze following a close-fought defeat to Wright in the semi-final, while Matthew Tracey was the second UCD fencer on the podium losing 15-14 to Byrne.

In an all-pentathlete final, Kate Coleman-Lenehan met reigning cadet champion Kerrie Johnson (Plymouth FC) in the final after a tight semi-final victory against Frankie Nesirky (Munster Blades). Bronze also went to Salle Dublin’s Sorcha Mellon-Whelan, who was knocked out 15-13 by Johnson.


Men’s Foil saw a clean sweep for Pembroke Fencing Club, with all four medals returning to the South Dublin club. Conor Nagle retained his title for a fourth consecutive season, defeating veteran international Philip Lee 15-7 in the final. Pembroke’s Phillip Cripwell and John Wyatt completed the podium.

In Women’s Foil, Joana Ramalho clinched her third East of Ireland championship, defeating Northern Ireland Commonwealth fencer Katie Gillespie (QUB) in the final. Charlotte Slater (Lisburn Gladiators) and Rachel Thomas (DUFC) took home bronze.


Salle Dublin dominated the podium across the sabre events, including both golds. Olympic hopeful Stephen Concannon held on to the title for a fourth consecutive championship. In a repeat of last year’s final, Concannon met Salle Dublin clubmate Michalis Kirimlidis, sealing gold with a 15-9 victory. Aidan Clarke takes home a third medal for Salle, joined on the podium by Kevin MacSweeney (UCC).

Szabina Matyas continued an exceptional run of form, adding the East of Ireland title to victories at this season’s Irish Open and West of Ireland Open. Fellow newcomer Manon Nouvian (DUFC) was defeated 15-5 in the final to win silver. Evie Clarke (UCC) and Mary Ball were knocked out in the semi-finals.

Congratulations to all of this year’s champions! Full results can be found in the Competition section.

Comments are closed.