The Student Four Nations takes place each June. At the Cardiff event in June 2017, an all-island team was fielded for the first time.


  1. February/March: Team Manager selected at Captains Meeting during Intervarsity Championships
  2. March/April: Team Manager appoints weapon selectors based on recommendations of college captains. No more than one selector may be be appointed from a single college.
  3. April: end-of-season rankings published after National Championships.
  4. April/May: selectors nominate panels at each weapon: a squad of four plus at least one non-travelling reserve.
  5. May: fencers confirm availability and work with Team Manager to arrange travel/accommodation.

Who is eligible?

  • Full-time and part-time students studying at degree level at an Irish or Northern Irish third-level institution
  • Full-time students studying at degree level overseas, who are eligible to fence for Ireland or Northern Ireland at senior Five Nations
  • Fencers in their ‘Year of Grace’, i.e. who graduated from an eligible course within the past 12 months.

How are selections made?

  • The top two eligible and available fencers on the Irish rankings (as published after the National Championships) shall be named to the squad.
  • The remaining places on the team including reserves are filled at the discretion of the selector/s based on all available information.
  • Selectors will not be expected to know that any given fencer is eligible for selection. Fencers interested in taking part will be expected to contact the relevant weapon selector, stating their interest and citing their best results from the season. This will enable selectors to make comparisons, particularly where a fencer is overseas and may not hold a representative Irish ranking.
  • Where discretionary selections diverge from the national rankings, selectors will publish the result that explains a fencer’s inclusion on the panel. This allows non-resident fencers to be selected in a clear and fair manner.

Previous and Future Events

Year Host Nation Overall Winner Results Team Ireland
2012 Wales – Cardiff England
2013 England – Birmingham England
2014 Northern Ireland – Belfast England Link
2015 Ireland – Dublin England Link
2016 Scotland England
2017 Wales – Cardiff England Link Information
2018 England
2019 Ireland
2020 Wales
2021 Scotland
2022 England