Fencing is alive and thriving at third-level institutions around the country. Student clubs welcome beginners and seasoned competitors alike, and have led the way in creating novice competitions (aimed at fencers in their first two years of training.)

At the time of publication, fencing clubs were active in the following colleges:

  • IT Carlow – sabre only
  • Dublin City University – épée only
  • Dundalk Institute of Technology (DkIT) – sabre only
  • Maynooth University
  • NUI Galway
  • Trinity College Dublin (Dublin University)
  • University College Cork
  • University College Dublin
  • Ulster University, Coleraine – see NI Fencing for details
  • Queen’s University Belfast – see NI Fencing for details

Fencing clubs at the Royal College of Surgeons, University of Limerick, and IT Tallaght are currently inactive. Fencing Ireland is keen to support any student who wishes to start (or revive) a fencing club at their college. See our newspost to find out more about signing up in September 2016.

Student Membership

Fencing Ireland offers a membership category specifically for third-level students, offering all of the benefits of a full adult licence at a reduced cost.

Student Competitions


The Intervarsity Championship is contested every spring; across all six weapons, colleges and universities select teams of three or four fencers to represent the club. The winning team across all weapons is named the Intervarsity champion, and the tournament weekend also includes a much-anticipated formal meal.

Any full-time third-level student may enter the Student Individuals, which is contested as an individual open event which stands separately from the Intervarsities.

STUDENT CHAMPIONS 2015-16 Épée Foil Sabre
Men’s Dawid Kulka
IT Tallaght
Phillip Cripwell
Dublin University
Tadhg Garton
Dublin University
Women’s Camille Hindsgaul
Dublin University
Laura Mirakoff
Ragnheidur Gudjonsdottir
Dublin University
YearSeriesHostsChampions# wins
2017LXIIIUniversity College Cork
2016LXIIMaynooth UniversityDublin University39
2015LXIQueens University BelfastDublin University38
2014LXUniversity College DublinDublin University37
2013LVIXUniversity of LimerickDublin University36
2012LVIIIDublin UniversityDublin University35
2011LVIINUI GalwayDublin University34
2010LVIDublin City UniversityDublin University33
2009LVUniversity of Ulster, ColeraineDublin University32
2008LIVUniversity College CorkDublin University31
2007LIIIUniversity College Dublin20
2006LIIUniversity College Dublin19
2005LIUniversity College Dublin18
2004LUniversity College Dublin17
2003XLIXUniversity College Dublin16
2002XLVIIIUniversity College Dublin15
2001XLVIIDublin University30
2000XLVIQueens University Belfast1
1999XLVUniversity College Dublin14
1998XLIVDublin University29
1997XLIIIUniversity College Dublin13
1996XLIIUniversity College Dublin12
1995XLIUniversity College Dublin11
1994XLDublin University28
1993XXXIXUniversity College Dublin10
1992XXXVIIIUniversity College Dublin9
1991XXXVIIDublin University27
1990XXXVIDublin University26
1989XXXVDublin University25
1988XXXIVDublin University24
1987XXXIIIDublin University23
1986XXXIIDublin University22
1985XXXIDublin University21
1984XXXDublin University20
1983XXIXDublin University19
1982XXVIIIDublin University18
1981XXVIIDublin University17
1980XXVIDublin University16
1979XXVDublin University15
1978XXIVUniversity College Dublin8
1977XXIIIUniversity College Dublin7
1976XXIIUniversity College Dublin6
1975XXIUniversity College Dublin5
1974XXUniversity College Dublin4
1973XIXUniversity College Dublin3
1972XVIIIUniversity College Dublin2
1971XVIIDublin University14
1970XVIDublin University13
1969XVDublin University12
1968XIVDublin University11
1967XIIIDublin University10
1966XIIUniversity College Dublin1
1965XIDublin University9
1964XDublin University8
1963IXDublin University7
1962VIIIDublin University6
1961VIIDublin University5
1960VIDublin University4
1959VRoyal College of Surgeons2
1958IVRoyal College of Surgeons1
1957IIIDublin University3
1956IIDublin University2
1955IDublin University1